Office of the Provost

Distinguished Educator Awards

This award is to recognize three (3) individual, full-time faculty for distinguished teaching effectiveness; professional commitment; demonstrated interest in students; and service to others and the University overall. [See Outstanding Educator award info] A Faculty Senate subcommittee votes on nominations and selects the recipients of this award. 

Nominations open: January 1-31, 2020

Distinguished Educator Award Past Recipients

  • 2018-19: Jason F. Kaiser, Kris G. Phillips, Lynn H. White
  • 2017-18: Steve Evans, Dave Lunt, Dezhi Wu
  • 2016-17: John Belk, Kevan Jacobson, Janice Scarinci
  • 2015-16: Tyler Stillman, Jana Lunt, Nathan Werner
  • 2014-15: Todd Mack, Andrew Marvick, Amanda Wilford
  • 2013-14: Kay Andersen, Elise Leahy, Jean Lopour
  • 2012-13: John T. Ault, John R. Taylor, Ellen Treanor
  • 2011-12: Betsey Bancroft, Randle Hart, Lee Wood
  • 2010-11: Desmond Penny, Rachel Smetanka, Virginia Stitt
  • 2009-10: Kyle Bishop, Wynne Summers, Wayne Williams
  • 2008-09: Richard Eissinger, Mark Miller, Mackay Steffensen
  • 2007-08: Robin Calland, Laura Cotts, Kirk Fitzpatrick
  • 2006-07: Kevin Stein, Todd Petersen, Les Jones
  • 2005-06: Steve Barney, Rea Gubler, Larry Ping
  • 2004-05: Carl Franklin, Deb Hill, Linda Marriott
  • 2003-04: Jean Adams, Merlene Ellington, Brian Heuett
  • 2002-03: Helen Chuang, Marty Larkin, Matthew Schmidt
  • 2001-02: Arlene Braithwaite, Gregory Powell, Steve Barney
  • 2000-01: Shauna Mendini, Richard Kimball, Brian Hoover
  • 1999-00: Michael Donovan, Desmond Penny, Terry Schwaner
  • 1998-99: Brent Sorensen, Jory Ty Redd, Gregory Powell
  • 1997-98: Artis Grady, Stan Hatfield, James Vlasich