Office of the Provost

Deans' Council

Deans' Council Policy

Per Policy 13.9 the Deans' Council serves as the representative agency at the University level for specific policy matters relating to faculty concerns that are more restricted to departmental or college, line-authority issues. For more general policy matters relating to faculty concerns which have University-wide ramifications, the Deans' Council and the Faculty Senate constitute the two academic bodies who recommend general academic policy to the University Provost. The Deans' Council is directly responsible to the Provost who functions as its chair.

Current Deans' Council Members

Voting Members:

  • Dean of the School of Business: Mary Pearson
  • Dean of the College of Education and Human Development: Shawn Christiansen
  • Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences: Jean Boreen
  • Dean of the College of Performing and Visual Arts: Shauna Mendini
  • Dean of the College of Science and Engineering: Frank Hall

Non-voting Members:

  • Associate Provost: James Sage
  • Assistant Provost: Johnny MacLean
  • Director of Institutional Research and Assessment: Christian Reiner
  • President, Faculty Senate: Steve Barney
  • Director of Center of Excellence for Teaching and Learning: Matt Weeg
  • Executive Director of Information Technology: Matt Zufelt
  • Vice President of Student Affairs: Jared Tippets
  • Director of Sponsored Research and Grants: Sylvia Bradshaw
  • Business Manager for Academic Affairs: Lisa Swanson
  • SUUSA Academic Vice President: Brandon Payne
  • Registrar: John Allred

The Deans' Council meets monthly or more often as necessary during the academic year, and every month during Summer School. Other meetings are called on an ad hoc basis as needed.  Meetings typically begin at 1pm in the Charles Hunter room. Questions about meeting dates, times, or locations should be directed to

Deans' Council Minutes