Staff Association

Staff Members: Contact Your Legislators

As the Utah Legislature prepares to convene for the coming Legislative Session, we would like to remind you of the importance of communicating with your legislators. They have expressed a desire to hear from you. Email is the best way for most of the legislators to hear your comments. Brief texts are also effective. Many of the legislators have their cell phones listed with their contact information on the Utah State Legislature web site. Let them know how you feel about issues that pertain to the University, as well as our community and state. If you have any comments or concerns about the legislative process or agenda items, don't hesitate to contact them. If it is important to you, it is important to them—they represent each of us. As Southern Utah University is Iron County's largest employer, the SUU Staff Association encourages your involvement in this important matter. Find contact information below for individual representatives and those who represent constituents in the SUU service area [Nine Counties: Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Millard, Piute, Sevier, Washington and Wayne].

The Staff Association has provided contact information for legislators who have ties to Southern Utah and sit on the Education Committees. Please take time to contact your State Senator and Representative.

UHESA Day at the Capitol

Members of SUU Staff Association are invited to attend a Day at the Capitol early in 2018. We will travel to SLC during the Legislative session, meet with our Legislators, enjoying a day together. It's a great learning opportunity, and time well-spent with the people at the Capitol and your co-workers. Dates and times will be posted later. If you are interested in attending or have questions, contact Linda Liebhardt at, 435-865-8240 (work), or 435-592-3825 (cell).

Rural Southern Utah Representatives and Senators

House District #62 (Washington)
Rep. Jon E. Stanard
P.O. Box 910772
St. George, UT 84791
Phone: 435-414-4631

House District #68 (Beaver)
Rep. Merrill F. Nelson
164 S 800 E.
Grantsville, UT 84029
Phone: 801-971-2172

House District #70 (Sevier)
Rep Carl Albrecht
350 North State Suite 350
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 435-979-6578

House District # 71 (Washington)
Rep. Bradley G. Last
1194 S 180 West
Hurricane, UT 84737
Phone: 435-817-0064

House District # 72 (Iron)
Rep. John R. Westwood
751 S. 2075 W.
Cedar City, Utah 84720
Phone: 435-590-1467

House District # 73 (Garfield, Kane, Beaver, Wayne)
Rep. Michael E. Noel
PO Box 301
Kanab, Utah 84741
Phone: 435-616-5603

House District # 74 (Washington, Southwest region)
Rep. V. Lowry Snow
912 W. 1600 S. Suite B-200
St. George, Utah 84770
Phone: 435-703-3688

House District # 75 (Washington, Central region)
Rep. Walt Brooks
393 W 300 N
St. George, UT 84770
Phone: 435-817-3530

Senate District # 24 (Garfield, Kane, Piute, Sevier, Wayne)
Senator Ralph Okerlund
248 S. 500 W.
Monroe, Utah 84754
Phone: 435-979-7077

Senate District # 28 (Beaver, Iron, Kane, Washington)
Senator Evan Vickers
2166 N. Cobble Creek Dr.
Cedar City, UT 84721
Phone: 435-817-5565

Senate District # 29 (Washington)
Senator Donald Ipson
539 Diagonal St.
St. George, UT 84770
Phone: 435-817-5281

Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Sen. Evan J. Vickers (R), Senate Chair

Rep. Keith Grover (R), House Chair

Rep. Derrin R. Owens (R), House Vice Chair

Sen. Jim Dabakis (D)

Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R)

Sen. Don L. Ipson (R)

Sen. Ann Millner (R)

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson (R)

Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson (R)

Rep. Kim F. Coleman (R)

Rep. Brad M. Daw (R)

Rep. Karen Kwan (D)

Rep. Kelly B. Miles (R)

Rep. Val K. Potter (R)

Rep. Jon E. Stanard (R)

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley (D)

Rep. Mike Winder (R)

Jill L. Curry, Fiscal Analyst

Spencer C. Pratt, Fiscal Manager

Senate Education Committee

  • Sen. Ann Millner (R), Chair
  • Sen. J. Stuart Adams (R)
  • Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R)
  • Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard (R)
  • Sen. Jani Iwamoto (D)
  • Sen. Wayne L. Niederhauser (R)
  • Sen. Howard A. Stephenson (R)
  • Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst

House Education Committee

  • Rep. Val L. Peterson (R), Chair
  • Rep. Kim F. Coleman (R), Vice Chair
  • Rep. LaVar Christensen (R)
  • Rep. Bruce R. Cutler (R)
  • Rep. Justin L. Fawson (R)
  • Rep. Francis D. Gibson (R)
  • Rep. Eric K. Hutchings (R)
  • Rep. Bradley G. Last (R)
  • Rep. Daniel McCay (R)
  • Rep. Carol Spackman Moss (D)
  • Rep. Michael E. Noel (R)
  • Rep. Derrin R. Owens (R)
  • Rep. Marie H. Poulson (D)
  • Rep. V. Lowry Snow (R)
  • Allyson R. Goldstein, Policy Analyst