Rural Health Association of Utah Conference


2017 Conference

The 2017 Conference has concluded and was held in St. George, Utah on Dec. 1, 2017. Below are presentations provided by keynote and breakout speakers.

Advances in Patient Care - Tele-oncology and Genomics, Dr. Derrick Haslem

JSYK: Heart-based Hope Heals, Dr. Cynthia Kimball Davis

Why HOSA?, Garth McFarland

University of Utah School of Medicine: An Update on Admissions and Curriculum, Dr. Ben Chan

Sometimes the Shortest Route to Treatment is a Runway, Joanne Brattain

Can a Rural Hospital Reliably Perform an Emergency C-Section (Decision to Incision) in 30 Minutes or Less?, Dixie Shaheen Rasmussen

Meeting the Family Planning Needs of Women in Rural Utah, Kyl Myers

Resources for Rural Communities in Utah from the State Office of Rural Health, Owen Quinonez

Utilizing Cross Sector Collaboration to Build a Culture of Health, Danielle Pendergrass

University of Utah Health Outreach Effort Update, Nate Gladwell & Jan Lefler

Utah Healthcare Policy and Politics 2018, Dave Gessel

What's Going on in Your Community?  Results from Intermountain's Health Needs Assessment, Amber Rich

Nurses Needed: Building a Nursing Workforce in Rural Communities, Jonathan Tanner 

See the conference agenda here.

CEU credits were offered through the Utah Nurses Association (UNA). In addition, CME credits where offered with the American Academy of Family Physicians. Questions can be directed to 

2017 Conference Awards

Congratulations to this year's conference awardees:

Preceptor of the Year: Craig Humes, P.A.C.

Clinical Training in Rural Utah: Utah Navajo Health Systems and Blue Mountain Hospital

Lifetime Achievement: Craig Davidson

Award image

People receiving an award

People receiving an award


Rural Health Association of Utah Membership Fees

Individual: $50 per year

Organization with up to 3 members: $100 per year

Organization with up to 10 members: $400 per year

Questions & Contact:

For more information on this year's conference, contact Rita Osborn, Director at
or 435-865-8520.