T-Birds Soar Together - Coronavirus Information Home

Utah COVID Legal Guidelines

The Utah COVID Environment in Which We Work: A Primer on Relevant Laws and Public Agency Guidance.

Under Utah state laws:

  • VACCINES - Universities canNOT:
    • Require proof of vaccine as a condition of enrollment or attendance unless it allows medical, personal, and religious belief exemption; (Utah Code 53B-2-113)
    • Deny a student who is exempt from a vaccine requirement from participation in an in-person learning option based on vaccine status; (Utah Code 53B-2-113)
    • Make rules that, directly or indirectly, require an individual receive an emergency COVID-19 vaccine (Utah Code 26-68-102(2)); 
    • Require that an individual receive an emergency COVID-19 vaccine as a condition of 
      • employment; 
      • participation in an activity of the University, including outside or extracurricular activities; or 
      • attendance at events that are hosted or sponsored by the University. (Utah Code 26-68-102(2))
  • FACE COVERINGS/MASKS - Universities canNOT:
    • Require an individual to wear a face covering to attend or participate in in-person instruction, institution-sponsored athletics, institution-sponsored extracurricular activities, in dormitories, or in any other place on campus (Utah Code 53B-2-113)
  • INCENTIVES - Universities canNOT:
    • allow funding appropriated by the Legislature to be used for financial incentives, awards, drawings or prizes, or any similar incentive to anyone for receiving a COVID-19 vaccination. SB 1001, effective July 1, 2021
  • IN-PERSON INSTRUCTION
    • For Fall 2021 and Spring 2022, SUU must offer at least 75% of the number of in-person courses as were offered at the beginning of the analogous semesters in Fall 2019 and Spring 2020. (Utah Code 53B-16-111).
    • SUU may offer fewer in-person courses if there is a proportional decrease in enrollment or to accommodate the needs of nontraditional students to learn online. (Utah Code 53B-16-111)

State and Federal Agency Public Health Guidance
  • QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION REQUIREMENTS (Current as of 8/12/2021)
    • CDC Guidance on Isolation and Quarantine: "Quarantine if you have been in close contact (within 6 feet of someone for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period) with someone who has COVID-19, unless you have been fully vaccinated. People who are fully vaccinated do NOT need to quarantine after contact with someone who had COVID-19 unless they have symptoms. However, fully vaccinated people should get tested 3-5 days after their exposure, even if they don’t have symptoms and wear a mask indoors in public for 14 days following exposure or until their test result is negative."
    • See also Utah Department of Public Health guidance on isolation and quarantine  
  • Utah Health Department guidance for fully vaccinated people 

Other Utah Laws Relevant to Emergency Declarations
  • The Governor and Utah Department of Health must provide 24-hour notice to the Legislature before declaring a Public Health Emergency or issuing an Order of Constraint. An example of an Order of Constraint includes requiring masks to be worn by all students in schools. 
  • A local health department must provide 24-hour notice to their county elected officials before declaring a Public Health Emergency or issuing an Order of Constraint.
  • The Legislature or elected county officials may overturn a Public Health Emergency or Order of Constraint at any time.
  • There is a 30-day maximum time limit on an initial Public Health Emergency or Order of Constraint. The Legislature or elected county officials must be provided 10 days notice if the DOH or LHD requests an extension of a Public Health Emergency or Order of Constraint.
  • All new Public Health Emergencies and Orders of Constraint must follow the requirements of Senate Bill 195.