Writing Center
Scriblerian Logo
Spring 2015

Sponsored by the English Department and the Braithwaite Writing Center, the Scriblerian is a writing contest and on-line journal for students by students. Revived during Fall Semester 2004 after a two-year hiatus, the essay competition is organized each semester by Writing Center tutors for ENGL 1010 and 2010 students. Winning essays are published on-line on the English Department website and past winners were also published in the print textbook SUU Guide to English Composition 2010-2011.

The Spring 2015 Scriblerian Contest was planned and supervised by Chair Chris Christiansen with the help of Heather Gonzales, Allison Borzoni, Christine Casper, Shannon Sheppard, Hannah Ouderkirk, Kali Gillies, Payton Yerke, and Gardner Stevenett. A total of 30 essays were submitted for the contest.

Argumentative 1010

1st: Amy Andre - "Feminism in Shakespeare" - Professor Joy Sterrantino

2nd: Celine Cont - "Obedience to Authority in World War II" - Professor Nathan Price

Expressive 1010

1st: Jacob Richter - "Melodic Literature: The Art of Playing the Piano" - Professor Fawn Caparas

2nd: Taylor Minks - "Explanation" - Professor Toanui Tawa

Argumentative 2010

1st: Julia Redman - "Fairytales: Fictional Children's Stories or Depictions of Real Life Evil" - Professor Chelsea Campbell

2nd: Grace Schulz - "'The Only Person Who Saves Me is Me:' How 'Once Upon A Time' is Challenging Traditional Gender Roles" - Professor Charla Strosser

Expressive 2010

1st: Katie Meyers - "An Impressionable Mind" - Professor Chelsea Campbell

Congratulations to the Spring 2015 Scriblerian Contest winners and thank you to everyone who submitted essays.