Leavitt Center

Exit Polling

Recap on Exit Polling – June 2014

We want to publicly thank our fantastic team who did the exit polling yesterday. Based on the polling, we predicted that Rep. Westwood had 73.4% of the vote (margin of error of +/- 4.6%). According to the final numbers this morning from the Iron County Clerk’s office, Rep. Westwood received 71.79% of the vote. We also predicted that Sen. Vickers would receive 76.1% of the vote (margin of error +/- 4.2%). According to the numbers produced by Iron County, Sen. Vickers received 74.49% of the vote. We also correctly recognized that Sen. Vickers final overall numbers would vary as we did exit polling in only half of Washington City and we did not poll in Hurricane, Toquerville, Beaver, and other communities. Next time we hope to expand our polling to these areas. Sen. Vickers finished with 67.1% of the overall votes.

Exit Polling Results – June 24, 2014

Introduction: The Leavitt Center conducted exit polling on June 24, 2014 at various polling locations throughout Iron and Washington Counties. Polling began as early as 7:00 am and continued until 7:00 pm in all but two locations. Exit polling was conducted in Enoch, half of the polling locations in Washington, and at all polling locations in Cedar City.

Limitations: The Leavitt Center recognizes that the final numbers will be impacted by early voting, absentee ballots, and the fact that exit polling was not conducted in certain cities, such as Beaver, Toquerville, and Hurricane.

House District 72: The sample size for this race consisted of 437 individuals who filled out an exit survey. Of the 437 individuals, 73.4% (+/- 4.6%) stated they voted for Rep. Westwood.
Senate District 28: The sample size for this race was 558 individuals who filled out an exit survey. Of the 558 individuals, 76.1% (+/- 4.2%) stated that they voted for Sen. Vickers.

Exit Polling Results - November 5, 2013

Mayoral: Maile Wilson 276 - John Black 163
City Council: Fred Rowley 243 - Scott Jolley 229 - Ron Adams 206 - Dutch Workman 146.

These results are from 6 polling locations taken today from 7am to 7pm and do not include early voting or absentee voting.