SUU Presidential Search

The Southern Utah University Presidential Search Committee will host three public meetings on Jan. 18, 2022, to obtain input from members of the campus community and the general public on the search for the next SUU president. Attendees will have the opportunity to join in person or via Zoom.

Public input from these meetings will help the committee shape a position announcement, the primary advertisement for the position used in recruiting candidates. Those unable to attend these meetings are encouraged to submit a comment online by emailing .

Watch Livestream of Meetings

Location Time Participate via Zoom Add to Your Calendar

351 W. University Blvd.
Cedar City, UT 84720 

Sharwan Smith Student Center - Sterling Church Auditorium

10:00am-12:00pm 10:00am Zoom Access 10:00am Calendar Event
2:00-4:00pm 2:00pm Zoom Access 2:00pm Calendar Event
5:30-7:30pm 5:30pm Zoom Access 5:30pm Calendar Event

**To comment, we ask that participants use the "raise hand" function in Zoom or use the chat function to notify the moderator and wait to be called on.

Send Comments to the Committee

Based on feedback obtained in the public forums, the committee will approve a position announcement and call for nominations and applications with the assistance of a national search firm. The committee will then screen applications for the position and conduct interviews with candidates. After deliberating, the committee will recommend three to five semifinalists to the Board of Higher Education. The Board intends to name a new president by the fall of 2022 but will take the necessary time to find the most qualified candidate.

The Utah Board of Higher Education has named a committee to conduct a national search for the next president of Southern Utah University. The Board named Mindy Benson as interim president of SUU effective July 2021, following Commissioner Dave R. Woolstenhulme's announcement that then-SUU President Scott L. Wyatt had accepted the new position of Senior Executive Director of Statewide Online Education within the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education.

Presidential Search Committee