Southern Utah Museum of Art

Family Programs


Create Playdate

Select Tuesdays, 11 a.m.
Beverley Taylor Sorenson Classroom

SUMA and artsFUSION's Create Playdate program is for all preschool children (ages 3 to 5) and their parents. Each 45-minute creative playdate will begin with a story and end with hands-on creative activities in theatre, dance, music, or visual art. Playdates are led by SUU students from the Beverley Taylor Sorenson College of Education and Human Development. This program is free and open to the public.

  • Tuesday, January 16
  • Tuesday, February 20
  • Tuesday, March 20
  • Tuesday, April 17
  • Tuesday, May 15

For more information e-mail alisapetersen@suu.edu.


Family Days

Select Saturdays, 2-4 p.m.
Beverley Taylor Sorenson Classroom

SUMA and artsFUSION have teamed up to bring performing and visual arts to life for families in southern Utah. Family Days, formerly known as FANS, will offer activities for parents, children, and grandparents in our community to create together through visual arts. Southern Utah University undergraduate students will create and lead these hands-on activities for the whole family to enjoy. This program is free and open to the public. Families are welcome to drop in anytime between 2 and 4 p.m.

  • Saturday, January 27
  • Saturday, February 24
  • Saturday, March 24
  • Saturday, April 28
  • No program in May due to Memorial Day

Spring Breakout

April 2 – April 6 (9-11 a.m.: K-2nd; 2-4 p.m.: 3rd-6th)
Beverley Taylor Sorenson Classroom
New to SUMA is the Spring Breakout Art Camp to offer fun, half-day art discussion and making experiences for K-6th grade students. Each day focuses on a different theme and includes age-appropriate, hands-on art projects inspired by artworks in our galleries and collections. Grades Kindergarten through 2nd are invited to join the Learning + Experiences team in the morning from 9 to 11 a.m. Then, grades 3rd through 6th are welcome in the afternoon from 2 to 4 p.m. The camp is $25 per day or $100 for the week. For members of the SUMA Families level, the camp is $20 per day or $75 for the week. Questions can be directed to the Learning + Experiences team at (435) 586-8765 or experiencesuma@suu.edu.

  • Monday, April 2: Visual Art
  • Tuesday, April 3: Storytelling & Poetry
  • Wednesday, April 4: Theatre & Dance
  • Thursday, April 5: Culinary Arts
  • Friday, April 6: Photography