Service-Learning & Civic Engagement


Faculty Service-Learning Committee Meeting
Wednesday, March 26, 2008
Registrar’s Conference Room, 12 Noon

Call to Order
Meeting was called to order by Earl Mulderink at 12:10 PM. In attendance: Lisa Assante (BUS), Steve Barney (HSS), Pam Branin (CSD), Briget Eastep (EDU), Jeff Hanson (PVA), Karl Stevens (SCPS), and Lacie Jo Juber (Student). Excused: Scott Hansen (CIET), Terri Hildebrand (SCI), Matt Nickerson (LIB & Honors Program).

Approval of Minutes
No minutes were presented for review.

A. Chair

Earl Mulderink apologized that no minutes are yet available for the previous meeting. He distributed an article from the University Journal of March 10, 2008, that provided an excellent overview of service-learning and civic engagement initiatives across campus.

B. Other Reports

Committee member Jeff Hanson asked that we provide him with photographs for his ongoing revision of the SL&CE web site. Lacie Jo Juber spoke about the Alternative Spring Break trip to Guaymas, Mexico, that she helped to organize. Nearly fifty SUU students participated in a trip highlighted by an impromptu parade and meeting with the mayor of Empalme. Cedar City residents made substantial donations for this trip, most notably several boxes of new clothes from our local Wal-Mart. Pam Branin reported on her Alternative Spring Break in Tacoma, Washington, where she, Jeb Branin, and fourteen students helped in a Habitat For Humanity project. Another Alternative Spring Break trip to Mexico was comprised of over forty students in the Rural Health Scholars program, overseen by Rita Osborn.

New Business
A. Service-Learning Enhancement Grant Applications
The committee discussed and approved unanimously two grant applications. First, Lisa Assante of the Department of Management and Marketing applied for $500 to support a project entitled, “Feeding and Educating the Cub Scouts of Cedar City.” This project is linked to service-learning in an upper-level food-preparation course, HRHM 4700. Second, Danielle Dubrasky of the English Department applied for a grant of $300 to fund “Poetry Education for Elementary Schools.” This project, led by students such as Lacie Jo Juber, will provide poetry books and supplies for at least four area schools.

B. 2008 Service-Learning Fellows Selection
The committee reviewed five applications for this year’s Service-Learning Fellows program, with honorees to receive an honorarium of $750 each and a handsome commemorative plaque. Winners will not be announced publicly at the Faculty Student Scholarship Recognition Event on April 23, 2008, at 5 PM in the Gilbert Great Hall.

C. Service-Learning Course Proposal
The committee discussed but did not approve an application for the course “Principles of Effective Parenting” (FLHD 3700). Although the course drew praise for its unique online delivery, committee members encouraged the applicant to revise and resubmit the application.

D. Utah Campus Compact Nominations
Following the criteria established by the Utah Campus Compact, the committee named the 2008 award winners from SUU:

  • Engaged Scholar: Dr. Lisa Assante
  • Civically Engaged Student: Dane Hess
  • Committed Community Partner: Jesus Manuel Rabago Parra of La Palma, Mexico

Meeting was adjourned at 1:10 PM.