Service-Learning & Civic Engagement


Faculty Service-Learning Committee
Monday, March 26, 2012, 2:00 p.m.
Community Engagement Center
417 West 200 South

I. Call to Order

Earl Mulderink called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. In attendance: Pam Branin (CEC), Veronica Cazares (CEC), Lisa Assante (BUS), Karl Stevens (SCPS), Wynne Summers (HSS), Cindy Wright (COSE). Excused: Boyd Fife (COSE), Briget Eastep (EDU), Jeff Hanson (PVA), Shayla Hill (Student),

II. Approval of Minutes

Minutes were approved for the meeting of February 27, 2012

III. Reports

A. Earl Mulderink, Chair

Earl announced that for the third successive year SUU was awarded the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll with over 91,000 student service hours documented. The Community Engagement Center is hosting the Teddy Bear Den, overseen by the Professional Business Leaders Club and advised by Dean Carl Templin. The Den will offer baby clothes and supplies to disadvantaged mothers and joins similar programs sponsored by the March of Dimes. Earl reported on his alternative break experience with the Rural Health Scholars in Panama and mentioned the forthcoming service-learning program to Ghana in summer. He also shared a handout about SUU's forthcoming membership in Break Away, a highly regarded organization that sponsors alternative breaks. The Utah Campus Compact is paying for our institutional membership. Utah Campus Compact staff visited here on March 21 and initiated discussions about SUU's continuing participation in AmeriCorps through the UCC. Earl invited everyone to spread the word about the CEC's "Thank You and Recognition Event" on April 18, 3-5 p.m., in the Starlight Room. The next Service-Learning Committee meeting will be on April 23 at 2 p.m. in the CEC.

B. Pam Branin, Associate Director of the Community Engagement Center

Pam reported that the year's final Bread and Soup Nite will be on Monday April 2, 2012 from 5-7 p.m. She reported on alternative spring break trips to Taos, New Mexico, chaperoned by Pam; Tacoma, Washington, joined by Gabrielle Strand; and San Diego, facilitated by Luke Knowles. The first two groups worked with Habitat for Humanity while the San Diego group joined with Weber State students in learning about immigrant and border issues by serving with Via International. For next year's student Service Leaders, applications are due by April 9 with selection by mid-April. Pam reported that she and Amy Dean Brinkerhoff, Director of the Iron County Volunteer Center, attended state-sponsored volunteer training to be certified to become trainers of community partners. She and Amy plan at six bimonthly workshops with the first on April 19 at 10 a.m. in the Iron County Visitors Bureau.

C. Other Reports

Lisa Assante reported that her service-learning students are planning a "Tropical Fusion" dinner in on April 4, 2012, starting at 4:30 p.m. in the T-Bird Circle Dining Room.

Wynne Summers reported that she is using service-learning in a section of English 2200 and is hopeful of applying for official designation as an SL course.

IV. New Business

A. Selection of 2012 Service Learning Fellows

The committee reviewed six applications and selected three 2012 Service-Learning Fellows: Matt Barton, Nica Clark, and Britt Mace. Honored for using service-learning in an effective manner, each individual will receive an honorarium of $750, a handsome commemorative plaque, and public recognition at the Thank You Event on April 18. (Prior to the committee's deliberations, Earl explained the budget constraints reduced the number of possible awards from five to three this year.)

B. Experiential Education Program Updates

Earl reported that the EE Program is progressing well. The largest number of currently registered in UNIV 3925 are in the "community engagement" track. We plan to offer 8-week versions of each EE course ( UNIV 1010, UNIV 3925, UNIV 4925 ) twice in each semester next year and again in Summer 2013. University College Associate Dean Jeb Branin will oversee UNIV 1010 as we move into Fall 2012.

V. Old Business

VI. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.