Service-Learning & Civic Engagement

Annual Report

Faculty Service-Learning Committee
Annual Report, 2007-2008

Earl F. Mulderink III
Faculty Coordinator of Civic Engagement

The Faculty Service-Learning Committee met monthly through 2007-2008 to develop new programs and sustain established ones.  Committee information, additional resources, and relevant links are located at our SL&CE web site:  Our “civic engagement” budget was $20,000 for the year, and, as before, it was capably administered by Debra Pool, Office Manager of the Student Success Center.

Committee Members

  • Earl Mulderink , Chair, Faculty Coordinator of Civic Engagement
  • Lisa Assante (BUS)
  • Scott Hansen (CIET)
  • Briget Eastep (EDU)
  • Steve Barney (HSS)
  • Jeff Hanson (PVA)
  • Terri Hildebrand (SCI)
  • Karl Stevens (SCPS)
  • Matt Nickerson (Honors Program and Library)
  • Pam Branin (S&L Center)
  • Lacie Jo Huber (Student)

2008 Service-Learning Fellows Named
For the second year, the Faculty Service-Learning Committee announced a new group of Service-Learning Fellows to recognize “engaged educators who practice service-learning in an effective manner.”  Each recipient received an honorarium of $750 and a handsome commemorative plaque.  More detailed information and relevant syllabi are located at our website.  In alphabetical order, the 2008 Service-Learning Fellows were: 

  • Dr. Steve Barney, Associate Professor of Psychology, recognized for developing a service-learning component in Abnormal Psychology, PSY 4310. 
  • Dr. Shawn Christiansen, Associate Professor of Family and Consumer Sciences, honored for service-learning components in two courses, Family Problems and Mediation (FLHD 4100) and Family Life Education (FLHD 4200). 
  • Dr. Briget Eastep, Assistant Professor in the Department of Physical Education, commended for developing a service-learning program within an upper-level class, Natural Resource Interpretation and Experiential Education (ORPT 4020). 
  • Prof. Rea Gubler, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, recognized for integrating service-learning in an online course, Principles of Effective Parenting (FLHD 3700). 
  • Dr. Jon M. Smith, Professor of Communication and Department Chair, honored for creating long-term service-learning opportunities in Advanced Television Field Production (COMM 4760) and previous courses. 

Service-Learning Course Approval
In line with policies approved by the Deans’ Council in December 2007, the Service-Learning Committee approved several classes for official designation as “service-learning” courses.  Full details about the criteria and application process are found online at  As of Spring 2008, the following courses are to receive a “service-learning” designation:

  • Quantity Food Production (HRHM 3110), Professor Lisa Assante (BUS)
  • Abnormal Psychology (PSY 4310), Professor Steve Barney (HSS)
  • United States History To/Since 1877 (HIST 2700/HIST 2710), Professor Earl Mulderink (HSS)
  • Adaptive Physical Education (PE 3090), Professor Jean Lopour

Service-Learning Enhancement Grants
To promote service-learning across campus, the committee established a mini-grant program for requests of up to $500 per instructor per fiscal year.  Application materials and report forms are found online at the SL&CE web site.  The following grants were approved through May 2008:

  • Dr. Cynthia Wright, “Testing and Treating Household Drinking Water in Guaymas, Mexico,” March 14-22, 2008; budget of $499, mainly for equipment and supplies.
  • Dr. Lisa Assante, “Feeding and Educating the Cub Scouts of Cedar City,” April 2008; budget of $500 for project linked to service-learning in upper-level food preparation course, HRHM 4700. 
  • Dr. Danielle Dubrasky, “Poetry Education for Elementary Schools,” May 2008; budget of $300 to provide poetry books and outreach materials for four area schools. 

Utah Campus Compact Honorees
For more than a decade, the Utah Campus Compact has encouraged higher education institutions to name outstanding teachers, students, and community partners.  As selected by our committee, the 2008 award winners from SUU were:  Engaged Scholar, Dr. Lisa Assante; Civically Engaged Student, Dane Hess; Committed Community Partner, Jesus Manuel Rabago Parra of La Palma, Mexico. 

Professional Development

In addition to supporting the Faculty Fellows and Service-Learning Enhancement Grants programs, funds were allocated for participation in workshops and conferences inside and outside of Utah. Ten faculty and staff members attended the 4th Annual Engaged Scholar Institute at Dixie State College in St. George, Utah, February 8-9, 2008, and others participated in the Rocky Mountain Psychological Association 2008 Annual Meeting and at Utah Campus Compact-related meetings in Salt Lake City, particularly at Westminster College, June 4-5, 2008. Funds were also provided to assist conference participation by Earl Mulderink, Pam Branin, and Rita Osborn at the 21st International Conference on The First-Year Experience, in Dublin, Ireland, June 23-26, 2008. They presented at a panel entitled, “Engaging Students: Integrating Service-Learning Into First-Year Experiences,” joining three other SUU colleagues who also presented papers at the conference.