Staff Association

Staff Members: Contact Your Legislators

As the Utah Legislature prepares to convene for the coming Legislative Session, we would like to remind you of the importance of communicating with your legislators. They have expressed a desire to hear from you. Email is the best way for most of the legislators to hear your comments. Brief texts are also effective. Many of the legislators have their cell phones listed with their contact information on the Utah State Legislature web site. Let them know how you feel about issues that pertain to the University, as well as our community and state. If you have any comments or concerns about the legislative process or agenda items, don't hesitate to contact them. If it is important to you, it is important to them—they represent each of us. As Southern Utah University is Iron County's largest employer, the SUU Staff Association encourages your involvement in this important matter. Find contact information below for individual representatives and those who represent constituents in the SUU service area [Nine Counties: Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Millard, Piute, Sevier, Washington and Wayne].

The Staff Association has provided contact information for legislators who have ties to Southern Utah and sit on the Education Committees. Please take time to contact your State Senator and Representative.

UHESA Day at the Capitol

Staff employed by Southern Utah University are members of the SUU Staff Association which is a part of the larger Utah Higher Education Staff Association, or UHESA. If you would like to participate in a "Day at the Capitol" during the legislative session, meet with our legislators and spend a day with co-workers, let the officers of the SUU Staff Association know. It is time well spent and a great educational opportunity.

Rural Southern Utah Representatives and Senators

House District #62 (Washington)
Rep. Travis Seegmiller
tseegmiller@le.utah.gov
308 W Tabernacle Street, Ste 300
St. George, UT 84770
Phone: 435-236-5118

House District #68 (Beaver)
Rep. Merrill F. Nelson
mnelson@le.utah.gov
164 S 800 E.
Grantsville, UT 84029
Phone: 801-971-2172

House District #70 (Sevier)
Rep Carl Albrecht
carlalbrecht@le.utah.gov
350 North State Suite 350
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 435-979-6578

House District # 71 (Washington)
Rep. Bradley G. Last
blast@utah.gov
1194 S 180 West
Hurricane, UT 84737
Phone: 435-817-0064

House District # 72 (Iron)
Rep. John R. Westwood
jwestwood@le.utah.gov
751 S. 2075 W.
Cedar City, Utah 84720
Phone: 435-590-1467

House District # 73 (Garfield, Kane, Beaver, Wayne)
Rep. Michael E. Noel
mnoel@kanab.net
PO Box 301
Kanab, Utah 84741
Phone: 435-616-5603

House District # 74 (Washington, Southwest region)
Rep. V. Lowry Snow
vlsnow@le.utah.gov
912 W. 1600 S. Suite B-200
St. George, Utah 84770
Phone: 435-703-3688

House District # 75 (Washington, Central region)
Rep. Walt Brooks
wbrooks@le.utah.gov
393 W 300 N
St. George, UT 84770
Phone: 435-817-3530

Senate District # 24 (Garfield, Kane, Piute, Sevier, Wayne)
Senator Ralph Okerlund
rokerlund@live.com
248 S. 500 W.
Monroe, Utah 84754
Phone: 435-979-7077

Senate District # 28 (Beaver, Iron, Kane, Washington)
Senator Evan Vickers
evickers@le.utah.gov
2166 N. Cobble Creek Dr.
Cedar City, UT 84721
Phone: 435-817-5565

Senate District # 29 (Washington)
Senator Donald Ipson
dipson@le.utah.gov
539 Diagonal St.
St. George, UT 84770
Phone: 435-817-5281

Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Sen. Evan J. Vickers (R), Senate Chair
evickers@le.utah.gov
435-817-5565

Rep. Keith Grover (R), House Chair
keithgrover@le.utah.gov
801-319-0170

Rep. Derrin R. Owens (R), House Vice Chair
derrinowens@le.utah.gov
435-851-1284

Sen. Jim Dabakis (D)
jdabakis@le.utah.gov
801-815-3533

Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R)
dhenderson@le.utah.gov
801-538-1035

Sen. Don L. Ipson (R)
dipson@le.utah.gov
435-817-5281

Sen. Ann Millner (R)
amillner@le.utah.gov
801-900-3897

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson (R)
hstephenson@le.utah.gov
801-815-6800

Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson (R)
jwstevenson@le.utah.gov
801-678-3147

Rep. Kim F. Coleman (R)
kimcoleman@le.utah.gov
801-865-8970

Rep. Brad M. Daw (R)
bdaw@le.utah.gov
801-850-3608

Rep. Karen Kwan (D)
kkwan@le.utah.gov
385-249-0683 

Rep. Kelly B. Miles (R)
kmiles@le.utah.gov
801-458-8270

Rep. Val K. Potter (R)
valpotter@le.utah.gov
435-757-9834

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley (D)
markwheatley@le.utah.gov
801-556-4862

Rep. Mike Winder (R)
mikewinder@le.utah.gov
801-633-1300

Sean C. Faherty, Fiscal Analyst
sfaherty@le.utah.gov

Spencer C. Pratt, Fiscal Manager
spratt@le.utah.gov

Senate Education Committee

  • Sen. Ann Millner (R), Chair
  • Sen. J. Stuart Adams (R)
  • Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R)
  • Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard (R)
  • Sen. Jani Iwamoto (D)
  • Sen. Wayne L. Niederhauser (R)
  • Sen. Howard A. Stephenson (R)
  • Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst

House Education Committee

  • Rep. Val L. Peterson (R), Chair
  • Rep. Kim F. Coleman (R), Vice Chair
  • Rep. LaVar Christensen (R)
  • Rep. Bruce R. Cutler (R)
  • Rep. Francis D. Gibson (R)
  • Rep. Eric K. Hutchings (R)
  • Rep. Bradley G. Last (R)
  • Rep. Daniel McCay (R)
  • Rep. Carol Spackman Moss (D)
  • Rep. Michael E. Noel (R)
  • Rep. Derrin R. Owens (R)
  • Rep. Marie H. Poulson (D)
  • Rep. V. Lowry Snow (R)
  • Allyson R. Goldstein, Policy Analyst