Staff Members: Contact Your Legislators

As the Utah Legislature prepares to convene for the coming Legislative Session, we would like to remind you of the importance of communicating with your legislators as a constituent, not a University Employee. Please remember that contact with our legislators must be made through your personal email or phone, not through University transmissions. They have expressed a desire to hear from you. Email is the best way for most of the legislators to hear your comments. Brief texts are also effective. Let them know how you feel about issues that pertain to the University, as well as our community and state. If it is important to you, it is important to them—they represent each of us. As Southern Utah University is Iron County's largest employer, SUU and the Staff Association encourage your involvement. Find contact information below for individual representatives and those who represent constituents in the SUU service area (Nine Counties: Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Millard, Piute, Sevier, Washington and Wayne).

Remember, you must make contact as an individual constituent, not as a University Employee.

The Staff Association has provided contact information for legislators who have ties to Southern Utah and sit on the Education Committees. Please take time to contact your State Senator and Representative.

UHESA Day at the Capitol

Staff employed by Southern Utah University are members of the SUU Staff Association which is a part of the larger Utah Higher Education Staff Association, or UHESA. If you would like to participate in a "Day at the Capitol" during the legislative session, meet with our legislators and spend a day with co-workers, let the officers of the SUU Staff Association know. It is time well spent and a great educational opportunity.


Utah Legislator Contact Information

2019 Rural Southern Utah Representatives

HD #62 (Washington)
Rep. Travis Seegmiller
tseegmiller@le.utah.gov
308 W Tabernacle Street, Ste 300
St. George, UT 84770
435-236-5118

HD #68 (Beaver)
Rep. Merrill F. Nelson
mnelson@le.utah.gov
164 S 800 E.
Grantsville, UT 84029
Phone: 801-971-2172

HD #70 (Sevier)
Rep. Carl Albrecht
carlalbrecht@le.utah.gov
350 North State Suite 350
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
435-979-6578

HD #71 (Washington)
Rep. Bradley G. Last
blast@utah.gov
1194 S 180 West
Hurricane, UT 84737
435-817-0064

HD #72 (Iron)
Rep. Rex P. Shipp
rshipp@le.utah.gov
749 S St. James Place
Cedar City, Utah 84720
435-590-1073

HD #73 (Garfield, Kane, Beaver, Wayne, Sevier, Piute, San Juan)
Rep. Phil Lyman
plyman@le.utah.gov
333 S Main Street
Blanding, Utah 84511
435-459-2800

HD #74 (Washington, Southwest region)
Rep. V. Lowry Snow
vlsnow@le.utah.gov
912 W. 1600 S. Suite B-200
St. George, Utah 84770
435-703-3688

HD #75 (Washington, Central region)
Rep. Walt Brooks
wbrooks@le.utah.gov
393 W 300 N
St. George, UT 84770
435-817-3530

SD #24 (Beaver, Garfield, Juab, Kane, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier, Utah, Wayne)
Sen. Ralph Okerlund
rokerlund@le.utah.gov
248 S. 500 W.
Monroe, Utah 84754
435-979-7077

SD #28 (Beaver, Iron, Washington)
Sen. Evan Vickers
evickers@le.utah.gov
2166 N. Cobble Creek Dr.
Cedar City, UT 84721
435-817-5565

SD #29 (Washington)
Sen. Donald Ipson
dipson@le.utah.gov
539 Diagonal St.
St. George, UT 84770
435-817-5281

2019 Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Sen. Keith Grover (R), Senate Chair
keithgrover@le.utah.gov
801-319-0170

Rep. Michael K. McKell (R), House Chair
mmckell@le.utah.gov
801-210-1495

Rep. Susan Duckworth (D), House Vice Chair
sduckworth@le.utah.gov
801-250-0728

Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R)
dhenderson@le.utah.gov
801-538-1035

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard (R)
lhillyard@le.utah.gov
435-752-2610

Sen. Karen Mayne (D)
kmayne@le.utah.gov
801-232-6648

Sen. Ann Millner (R)
amillner@le.utah.gov
801-900-3897

Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson (R)
jwstevenson@le.utah.gov
801-678-3147

Sen. Evan J. Vickers (R)
evickers@le.utah.gov
435-817-5565

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard (R)
mballard@le.utah.gov
385-226-2485

Rep. Jon Hawkins (R)
jhawkins@le.utah.gov
801-368-2534

Rep. John Knotwell (R)
jknotwell@le.utah.gov
801-449-1834

Rep. Kelly B. Miles (R)
kmiles@le.utah.gov
801-458-8270

Rep. Rex P. Shipp (R)
rshipp@le.utah.gov
435-590-1073

Rep. Mark A. Strong (R)
mstrong@le.utah.gov
385-275-5682

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley (D)
markwheatley@le.utah.gov
801-556-4862

Sean C. Faherty, Fiscal Analyst
sfaherty@le.utah.gov

Emily Willis, Fiscal Analyst
ewillis@le.utah.gov

2019 Senate Education Committee

  • Sen. Deidre M. Henderson (R), Chair
  • Sen. Ann Millner (R)
  • Sen. Gene Davis (D)
  • Sen. Lincoln Fillmore (R)
  • Sen. Keith Grover
  • Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard (R)
  • Sen. Kathleen Riebe (D)
  • Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson (R)
  • Allyson R. Hicks, Policy Analyst

2019 House Education Committee

  • Rep. V. Lowry Snow (R), Chair
  • Rep. Susan Pulsipher (R), Vice Chair
  • Rep. Melissa G. Ballard (R)
  • Rep. Dan N. Johnson (R)
  • Rep. Bradley G. Last (R)
  • Rep. Carol Spackman Moss (D)
  • Rep. Jefferson Moss (R)
  • Rep. Lee B. Perry (R)
  • Rep. Val L. Peterson (R)
  • Rep. Marie H. Poulson (D)
  • Rep. Adam Robertson (R)
  • Rep. Steve Waldrip (R)
  • Rep. Christine F Watkins (R)
  • Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst