University News

New Student Association Officers Elected for 2004-05 at SUU

Published: May 21, 2004 | Author: Renee Ballenger | Category: Academics

Elections for the Southern Utah University Student Association (SUUSA) were held last month. A president, three vice presidents and 18 college senators were selected by their fellow student body members to serve in the 2004-05 academic year.

Aaron Miller, and Economics/Political Science major with a Spanish minor, is the new SUUSA President. He graduated from Jordan High School in Sandy, UT, in 1998. Now, a senior at SUU Class standing of Senior, he’s maintaining a 3.3 GPA.

This is not Miller’s first stint in college leadership. Last year, he served as Vice President of Clubs and Organizations in which he presided over 100 student clubs and organizations, and managed a budget of $30,000 budget.

Very involved himself, Miller has served at SUU as a Presidential Ambassador, Sigma Chi President, on the Board of Directors Cedar City Chamber of Commerce, as Institute Class President, and on the Ballroom Tour Team. Appropriately, he was a Nominee for Male Contributor of the Year this past academic year.

In addition to all this, he works as a Manager at Iceberg Drive-In in Cedar City.

As Student Body President, Miller will represent and serve more than 6,000 students at SUU and oversee a $70,000 budget. He will work closely with Administration and serve as a Member of SUU’s Board of Trustees.

President Miller’s cabinet includes:
Vice President of Academics— Annie Draper, Math, Delta, UT
VP of Student Involvement—Micah Keith, Business, St. George, UT
VP of Activities— Ashlee Taft, Accounting, Bountiful, UT

The Student Senate is the legislative governing body of the Student Association. The primary responsibility of the senators is to represent the students from the college of which they were elected. Additional functions of the senate include the allocation of student fees, investigation and development of academic issues, campus needs and special projects to serve the student body.

Senators, College of Performing & Visual Arts:
Michelle Caldiero, Theatre Arts, West Jordan, UT
Kristin Chamberlain, Music, Richfield, UT
Derek Walker, Graphic Design, Cedar City, UT

Senators, College of Science:
Sean Carroll, Chemistry, Cedar City, UT
Cadie Bull, Pre-Med, Parowan, UT
Brittany Shakespear, Pre-Chemistry, Cedar City, UT

Senators, College of Humanities & Social Sciences:
Ryan Steineckert, Communication, Cedar Hills, UT
Emily Hyde, Communication, Richfield, UT
Bret Nelson, Communication, Copperas Cove, Texas

Senators, College of Education:
Rachel Powell, Math Education, Lindon, UT
Doris Prescott, Elementary Education, Ogden, UT
Missy Smith, Physical Education, Monroe, UT

Senators, School of Business:
Britni Brown, Pre-Business, Ephraim, UT
Caleb Miller, Information Systems, Cedar City, UT
Grant Smith, Pre-Business, Sandy, UT

Senators, School of Applied Science & Technology:
Shyanne Burr, Engineering Technology, Burrville, UT
Bryan Cowley, Criminal Justice, Oak City, UT
Jerry Johnson.

Contact Information:

Contact the Office of Marketing Communication