Presidential Search Committee Formalized

Published: May 17, 2013 | Read Time: 1 minutes

In addition to appointing Dr. Rich Kendell as Southern Utah University’s interim president, effective July 8, 2013, the state Board of Regents named 21 members to the search committee for SUU’s 16th president.

Regent Mark Stoddard will lead the committee, which is comprised of representatives from the Board of Regents, trustees, faculty, staff, students, and alumni of SUU, as well as community members from the University’s service region. A complete list of the search committee membership follows below.

The search committee will hold three public meetings on Thursday, May 23, in the Sterling R. Church Auditorium at Southern Utah University to obtain input from members of the University community and the general public on the presidential search to replace Dr. Michael T. Benson, who will assume presidency for Eastern Kentucky University in August.

SUU Presidential Search Committee Members

Board of Regents

  • Mark Stoddard, Search Committee Chair
  • Jed Pitcher, Regent
  • Bob Prince, Regent
  • Nina Barnes, Regent

SUU Board of Trustees

  • Eric Leavitt, Trustee Chair Elect & Search Committee Vice Chair
  • Jim Johnson, Vice Chair
  • Mark Russell, SUU Alumni Association President/Executive Committee Member
  • Jeff Hertig, 2013 SUU Student Association President

 SUU Administration, Faculty, & Staff

  • David Tanner, Vice President, Facilities Management & Planning
  • Robert Eves, Dean, College of Science
  • Shauna Mendini, Dean, College of Performing & Visual Arts
  • Julie Taylor, Faculty Senate President / Associate Professor of Physical Education
  • Patricia Keehley, Associate Professor of Political Science/Dir, MPA Program
  • Julie Larmore, Staff Association President/ Director, Facilities Business Ops & Strat Resource Planning

Community/Alumni Representatives

  • Alma Adams, Iron County Commissioner
  • Ann Crocker, Shakespeare Board
  • Gayle Pollock, Former SUU Trustee Chair
  • John Yardley, Rural Community (Garfield) former Trustee Chair
  • Sunny Reinhold, Chair, National Advisory Board
  • Eric Schmutz, Pres, State Bank of Southern Utah
  • Marilee Stowell, Community Representative

Contact Information:

Contact the Office of Marketing Communication

This article was published more than 5 years ago and might contain outdated information or broken links. As a result, its accuracy cannot be guaranteed.