Alcohol, Tobacco & Other Drugs – University Policy

University policy prohibits possession, consumption or distribution of hallucinatory narcotic or other illegal drugs & possession, consumption or distribution of alcoholic beverages on campus, including athletic events. Off-campus University functions are subject to state and local laws, and any student convicted of a crime committed on or off campus is in violation and may be subject to campus discipline. It is the duty of staff and students to report violations of campus regulations. Violations of the alcohol, tobacco & other drug policy will be coordinated through the Office of Vice President or Student Services. The sanctions taken may include but are not limited to: Referral for assessment to the Substance Abuse Program Administer, appearance before a University Standards Committee, probation, suspension, or expulsion. The purposes for disciplinary action are to maintain the University’s integrity, protect the rights of individuals and help people solve their problems.

Alcohol and Tobacco Laws and Penalties

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

It is illegal to drive or be in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. Utah’s Implied Consent law requires submission to blood alcohol content (BAC) test. Refusal will result in revocation of license for one year. You are in violation if your BAC is .05 or greater or the officer judges you to be impaired.

Penalty: Up to 6 months imprisonment and/or $1,000 fine, rehabilitation assessment and education class, suspension of license for 90 days, or $100 to victim restitution fund. Accident, injury or death will increase penalties. Class B misdemeanor.

Minor in Possession (MIP)

It is illegal for minors (under 21) to buy, possess (even hold) or drink alcohol.

Penalty: Up to 6 months imprisonment and/or $1,000 fine. Class B misdemeanor.

Not-a-drop

You are in violation if you are under 21, have consumed any amount of alcohol and are driving. Penalty: Lose license for 90 days, required substance abuse assessment, and may still face DUI and MIP laws.

Open Container

It is illegal to drink any alcoholic beverage while operating, or as a passenger in, avehicle (parked or moving), or have an open container in vehicle.

Penalty: Up to 6 months imprisonment and/or $1,000 fine. Class B misdemeanor.

Selling, furnishing or supplying alcohol to a minor

You are in violation if you provide alcohol to a minor.

Penalty: Up to 1 year imprisonment and /or up to $2,500 fine. Class A misdemeanor.

Intoxication

A person is in violation if he is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or other substances to the degree that the person may endanger himself or others in a public or private place and unreasonably disturbs others.

Penalty: Imprisonment in jail or detoxification center if necessary for protection of self or others. Class C misdemeanor.

Tobacco use or possession

It is unlawful for any person under the age of 19 to purchase or possess tobacco in any form.

Penalty: Maximum $500 fine. Class C misdemeanor.

Utah Indoor Clean Air Act

Prohibits smoking in a public place, public meeting or any government building. (All buildings on SUU campus)

Penalty: Maximum $500 fine. Class C misdemeanor.

Alcohol Health Risks

Possible Effects

Psychologically and physically addictive, respiratory depression, depression of the immune system, increased risk of accidents injury due to violence, heart disease, cancer, hypertension, brain damage, impotence at high dosage levels, drunk driving crashes. In addition, alcohol use increases the risk of unwanted sex, unwanted pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases and acquaintance/date rape. Mothers who drink during pregnancy may give birth to infants with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. These infants have irreversible physical abnormalities and mental retardation. Research indicates that children of alcoholic parents are at greater risk of becoming alcoholics.

Withdrawal Symptoms

Repeated alcohol use can lead to dependence. Sudden cessation is likely to produce withdrawal symptoms including: severe anxiety, tremors, hallucinations and convulsions. Alcohol withdrawal can be life-threatening. Long-term consumption of large quantities of alcohol, combined with poor nutrition, can also lead to permanent vital organ damage.

Effects of Overdose

Very high doses cause respiratory depression and death. If combined with other depressants of the central nervous system, much lower doses of alcohol will produce the effects just described.

Where to go for help and/or report violations

Drugs — Health Risks and Laws

Schedule I

Narcotics, such as heroin; hallucinogens such as LSD, mescaline, and peyote.

Psychologically and physically addictive; depression, withdrawal symptoms, convulsions, unpredictable behavior with hallucinogens; possible damage to unborn fetus.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws: Minimum penalty: low end amount (depends on drug)-5 to 40 years; high end amount – 10 to life. Maximum fine: $2 - $4,000,000. If death or serious injury occurs – 20 years to life.
  • Utah Laws (possession): Up to 5 years and/or up to $5,000 fine, (3rd degree felony)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell: From 1-15 years and/or up to $10,000 fine, (2nd degree felony)

Schedule II

Narcotics such as opium, morphine, methadone, and codeine; depressants, such as methaqualone (quaalude) and some barbiturates; stimulants, such as cocaine and some amphetamines; and phencyclidine (PCP), a hallucinogen.

Psychologically and physically addictive; depression, withdrawal symptoms, convulsions, respiratory failure, frequent accidents; possible damage to unborn fetus; cocaine and amphetamines increase blood pressure which can lead to irregular heartbeat and death; amphetamines can cause agitation; increase in body temperature, hallucinogens, convulsions, possible death.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws: Minimum penalty: low end amount (depends on drug)-5 to 40 years; high end amount – 10 to life. Maximum fine: $2 - $4,000,000. If death or serious injury occurs – 20 years to life.
  • Utah Laws (possession): Up to 5 years and/or up to $5,000 fine, (3rd degree felony)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell: From 1-15 years and/or up to $10,000 fine, (2nd degree felony)

Schedule III

Stimulants (including some amphetamines); depressants (including some barbiturates); and some narcotics.

Psychologically and physically addictive; drowsiness, withdrawal symptoms, abdominal and muscle cramps, anxiety, tremors, insomnia, convulsions, possible death, possible damage to unborn fetus.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws: All drugs, any amount. Maximum: 3 years/$250,000
  • Utah Laws (possession): Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 fine, (Class B misdemeanor)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell: Up to 5 years and/or up to $5,000 fine, (3rd degree felony)

Schedule IV

Depressants, including the benzodiazepine (e.g., valium, Librium, and dalmane), chloral hydrate, some barbiturates, and others (e.g., opium, codeine) than drugs included in schedules I-IV.

Psychologically and physically addictive; drowsiness, withdrawal symptoms, abdominal and muscle cramps, anxiety, tremors, insomnia, convulsions, possible death, possible damage to unborn fetus.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws: All drugs, any amount. Maximum: 3 years/$250,000
  • Utah Laws (possession): Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 fine, (Class B misdemeanor)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell: Up to 5 years and/or up to $5,000 fine, (3rd degree felony)

Schedule V

Chemical Compounds with smaller quantities of certain substances (e.g., opium, codeine) than drugs included in schedules I-V.

Psychologically and physically addictive; drowsiness, withdrawal symptoms, abdominal and muscle cramps, anxiety, tremors, insomnia, convulsions, possible death, possible damage to unborn fetus.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws: All drugs, any amount. Maximum: 1 year/$100,000
  • Utah Laws (possession): Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 fine, (Class B misdemeanor)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell: Up to 1 year and/or up to 5 years and/or $2,500 fine, (Class A misdemeanor)

Marijuana

Marijuana, THC, hashish, hash oil, tetrahydrocannabinol

Psychologically and physically addictive; increased risk of lung cancer, bronchitis, and emphysema, contributes to heart disease, fatigue, paranoia, possible psychosis; withdrawal symptoms including insomnia, hyperactivity and decreased appetite; depression of the immune system, decreased sperm count in men and irregular ovulation in women, possible sperm and ovum change.

Penalties

  • Federal Laws:
    • Under 50kg. Max: 5 years/$250,000
    • 50-100kg. Max: 20 yrs/$1,000,000
    • 100-1,000kg. Max: 5-40 yrs/ $2,000,000
    • Over 1,000kg. Minimum: 10 yrs-life $4,000,000
    • Hashish/Oil under 100kg. penalties are more severe from like quantities of marijuana.
  • Utah Laws (possession):
    • Under 1 oz: Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 fine. (Class B misdemeanor)
    • 1-16 oz: Up to 1 year and/or up to 5 years and/or $2,500 fine. (Class A misdemeanor)
    • 16 oz. + but less than 100 lbs. Up to 5 years and/or $5,000 fine. (3rd degree felony)
    • Over 100 lbs. From 1-15 years and/or up to $10,000 fine, (2nd degree felony)
  • Utah Laws (possession w/ intent to sell:
    • Up to 5 years and/or up to $5,000 fine. (3rd degree felony)
    • 1-15 years and/or up to $10,000 fine. (2nd degree felony)

Note: This is not a complete listing of health risks. Any drug use (including alcohol) increases the risk of impaired learning, accidents, violence, injuries, acquaintance rape, unwanted pregnancies and sexually transmitted diseases. For more information, contact your physician, pharmacist, or The Office of Substance Abuse Prevention Education. *Penalties increase one degree if incident occurs within 100 feet of a church, school, stadium, theater, etc.