Two Students Awarded the 2024 Board of Trustees Scholarship

Published: April 26, 2024 | Author: Clare-Estelle Perkins | Read Time: 1 minutes

Southern Utah University is pleased to announce the 2024 Board of Trustees Scholarship recipients. This scholarship, funded by SUU's Board of Trustees, is awarded to outstanding SUU students at the end of their junior year. The finalists, nominated by their respective colleges, represent the best of SUU and showcase exceptional dedication to their academic pursuits, distinguished service and campus involvement.

Kaden Jensen

Walter Maxwell Gibson College of Sciences nominee, Kaden Jensen, and College of Health Sciences nominee, Joseph Caleb Clinger were both chosen for this recognition. They will graduate in April 2025, Jensen with two Bachelor of Science degrees in biology and chemistry, and Clinger with a Bachelor of Science in Human Nutrition and a minor in Chemistry.

Jensen plans to attend an MD/PhD program to pursue CRISPR research and patient care. Originally from Saint George, UT, he chose SUU for its small class sizes and intimate education environment, noting that he is happy he can consider his professors as close friends. Jensen particularly enjoyed biochemistry with Professor Howard and various chemistry courses with Professor Prater.

Joseph Clinger

Clinger plans to apply to medical schools to become a doctor of Osteopathic Medicine. Originally from Blanding, Utah, he chose SUU for its strong science programs and smaller sizes. Clinger thanks Matthew Schmidt, Celesta Lyman, Sarah Brock, Dr. Kim Weaver and Dr. Nathan Werner for their example and inspiration.

The Higher Education Act of 1969, as amended, created the Board of Trustees as an integral part of the Utah System of Higher Education. As provided in the Act, the State Board of Regents delegates to and vests certain powers in institutional boards of trustees.


Learn more about the seven finalists for the 2024 SUU Board of Trustees Scholarship.

Tags: College of Health Sciences College of Natural Sciences CurStu FacStaff Board of Trustees

Contact Information:

Nikki Koontz