Librarians Who Can Help With Remote Research

Posted: July 30, 2020 | Author: Savannah Byers | Read Time: 2 minutes

Meet the librarians at SUU's libraryAs we continue to navigate this new period of remote education, the Gerald R. Sherratt Library at Southern Utah University has produced several resources specifically catered to students working in a distance learning situation.

A great place to begin the remote research process is by reading and using this webpage on Library Services for Distance Learners. This page includes research databases and writing guides in addition to information about ebooks, academic journals, and interlibrary loan.

Another resource for off-campus research is the Library Research Guides. The guides work well for specific research within your major. They are organized by major and include helpful information about how to find books, articles, and databases on your topic.

SUU’s Library is staffed with librarians who specialize in a variety of topics. All the librarians are all willing to help you with research in any way that they can- even in a remote setting. Get in touch with the librarians below via email.

SUU Librarian’s Specialties:

Matt Nickerson / associate dean & executive director / nickerson@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • Physical education
  • Outdoor recreation
  • Dance
  • Physical science
  • Theatre
  • Southwest Tech

Anne Diekema / department chair, instruction, outreach / annediekema@suu.edu 

Specialties:

  • Nursing
  • Biology
  • Interdisciplinary studies

Caitlin Gerrity / library media program director, librarian / caitlingerrity@suu.edu 

Specialties:

  • Education
  • Family life and human development

Richard Saunders / collection development librarian / rsaunders@suu.edu   

Specialties:

  • History
  • Sociology
  • Engineering
  • Music
  • Aviation

Scott Lanning / data management & assessment librarian / lanning@suu.edu 

Specialties:

  • Business
  • Generalites
  • Math
  • Computer science

Christopher Clark / engagement & instruction librarian / christopherclark1@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • English
  • Student clubs

Chris Younkin / learning experience librarian / chrisyounkin@suu.edu 

Specialties:

  • Communication
  • Philosophy

Maralee Carlin / instruction librarian / maraleecarlin@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • Anthropology
  • Library science
  • American language & culture center
  • Special initiatives

Rosie Liljenquist / scholarly communications librarian / rosieliljenquist@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • OER & scholarly communications
  • Nutrition & agriculture
  • T-Bird texts

Paula Mitchell / Special Collections librarian / mitchellp@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • Political science
  • Criminal justice
  • Juvenile collection
  • Special collections

Doug Wayman / digital services librarian / douglaswayman@suu.edu  

Specialties:

  • Art and design
  • Languages and philosophy
  • Religion
  • Geosciences

SUU has many librarians beyond this list that would love to help you with research in any area. Meet more of SUU’s librarians on their Faculty & Staff Directory.

Tags: Student Life Library

Related Posts