Southern Utah Museum of Art



The Southern Utah Museum of Art, on the campus of Southern Utah University, features the artwork of regional artists known for their landscapes, faculty and student artists from the SUU Department of Art & Design, as well as emerging and distinguished artists from around the country. Strengths of the nearly 2,000-object permanent collection include the body of work by Jimmie Jones that exemplifies his notable career in the region, as well as a robust collection of prints featuring well-known artists such as Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Salvador Dalí, Katsushika Hokusai, Thomas Hart Benton, and others. Part of the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Center for the Arts, which also includes the Utah Shakespeare Festival, SUMA is free and open to the public.

Mission Statement

Southern Utah Museum of Art is an experiential learning center for future arts leaders who serve the community through exhibitions, collections, preservation, and educational programming.


Tuesday-Saturday, 12:00 pm-6:00 pm

SUMA is closed during all Southern Utah University holidays. Below are a list of University holidays for the 2017-2018 academic year:

  • Independence Day: Tuesday, July 4th
  • Pioneer Day: Monday, July 24th
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 4th
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 23rd and Friday, November 24th
  • Christmas: Monday, December 24th and Tuesday, December 25th
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: Monday, January 15th
  • President's Day: Monday, February 19th
  • Spring Break: Friday, March 16th
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 28th

Beverley Taylor Sorenson Center for the Arts

The Beverley Taylor Sorenson Center for the Arts will incorporate visual arts, live theatre and dynamic arts education on the SUU campus. The Beverley, a year-round cultural destination, will include the Utah Shakespeare Festival’s new Engelstad Shakespeare Theatre, the Eileen and Allen Anes Studio Theatre, and the Festival’s offices and studios, as well as SUMA.


Parking for the museum is in the open lot on the northwest corner of 300 West and University Boulevard. For a map, visit the SUU Campus Map.

Advisory Board

The SUMA Advisory Board is selected and appointed by SUU. The members represent both SUU and the community. The Founding Board is as follows:

  • Chair - Joanne Brattain (Community) 
  • Vice-Chair - Jeff Hanson (SUU) 
  • Secretary - Jennifer Oberhelman (SUU) 
  • Programming Chair - Diane Strachan (Community) 
  • Programming Co-Chair - Samuel Davis (SUU)
  • Volunteer Chair - Roland Gow (Community) 
  • Elementary Education - Alisa Petersen (SUU) 
  • Collections Chair - Susan Harris (SUU) 
  • Development - Kathy LaFave (Community) 
  • Friends Chair - Colette Cox (Community) 
  • Marketing - Maria Twitchell (Community) 


  • Jessica Farling (SUU), Director of SUMA
  • Shauna Mendini (SUU), Dean of the College of Performing and Visual Arts
  • Donna Law (SUU), Development Director
  • Rachel Bishop (SUU), Director of the Arts Administration Programs