Featured Scholarships from the Non-Trad Office

All information provided will be confidential and only seen by staff. All staff members are required to abide by HIPAA Rules. SUU Policy #5.22 SUBJECT: Data Governance and Protection Policy

  • The Utah Education Disadvantaged Fund Scholarship: Open for Summer 2024. A semesterly scholarship to enhance diversity and financially assist disadvantaged students at SUU. Applications open and are due approximately one month before each semester begins. You must be a Utah resident and a current student (Speedway & BGS students excluded). You must maintain a 2.5 GPA or greater. Please get in touch with our office for further application information. Personal Statement Template Thank you letter template
    • Please limit both letters to one page double-spaced.
  • The Daniel's Fund Boundless Opportunity Scholarship: OPEN. An annual scholarship for full-time non-traditional students OR to military veterans who served active duty. The student must be a Utah resident and a citizen/permanent resident of the US, eligible to receive a Pell Grant (FAFSA), and be in good academic standing (2.6 GPA). One letter of reference from a faculty member is also required for first-time applicants. To reapply for the second year, students must have a minimum 2.8 GPA. Applications open in April and are due July 1 annually. All application parts MUST be submitted by the deadline (July 1, 2024) to be considered.
  • Child Care Access Means Parents in School (CCAMPIS): A grant for subsidizing the cost of child care. Covers up to 90% of childcare costs.
  • The Kathy W. Wyatt Tiny T-Bird Scholarship: A scholarship to help support student-parents using child care. You must apply for CCAMPIS first to be eligible.

For more information on these scholarships, please get in touch with us at 435-865-8760 or nontrads@suu.edu.

(For general SUU scholarship information, see the Scholarships Information Page. To be eligible for SUU scholarships, all students must be admitted to Southern Utah University and may be required to complete a scholarship application. 
Departmental scholarships are awarded by the academic departments to deserving students. Applications for Departmental Scholarships are open November 1st - February 1st. More information can be obtained by contacting the Financial Aid Office.)

  • The Labrum Family Entrepreneurship Award for Non-Traditional Students: Two awards of $475 are given each semester. Must be a non-traditional student. Students will be selected based primarily on their commitment to entrepreneurial success. Must maintain 3.0 GPA. Must be enrolled in an entrepreneurship course. Apply HERE.
  • Graduate Ambassador Scholarship: Cedar City-based graduate students at SUU (face-to-face or local online students) in any program can apply to become graduate ambassadors.
  • Non-Traditional Faculty Senate Scholarship: Awarded to a student age 25 years or older, demonstrating a financial need, demonstrating scholarship or professional commitment, leadership or community service experience, and who is a sophomore, junior, or senior.
  • The Dr. W. C. Swanson Family Foundation Endowed Scholarship: Awarded to deserving rural, non-traditional, and/or minority students.
  • The Elizabeth “Bessie” Shurtz Memorial Endowment: Established and funded by Dr. Alex and Bessie Oblad in memory of Mrs. Oblad's mother. Scholarships are awarded to worthy female students from southern Utah of junior or senior standing.
  • The Roy W. and Elizabeth E. Simmons Scholarship: Awarded to a single working mother with at least one child at home who demonstrates a financial need and maintains at least a 3.0 GPA.
  • The Scott M., Ruth C. and Lois Urie Scholarship Endowment: Awarded to working students, covers one-half tuition and fees. The student cannot be receiving additional scholarship support.
  • The Florine H. Major Family Scholarship Endowment: Awarded to an outstanding junior or senior student from the Department of Education. The student selected would preferably be a single parent who shows extraordinary promise as a teacher.
  • The Jason Ted Jensen Scholarship: Awarded to a student in the College of Education who is obtaining a teaching certificate, and who has displayed a sincere desire to learn and who would possibly not otherwise have the opportunity. The selected student should display a very original approach to teaching and life and have the desire to better the education system through their attitude and service to their profession.
  • The Jane Tripp Doran History and Literature Scholarship Endowment: Awarded to a junior or senior student majoring in History or Literature. Student preferred to be a single mother with at least one child living in the home, or a female student, and also to a student who has not previously graduated nor holds a degree in any other discipline.
  • The Georgia Beth Thompson Scholarship: Funded by Georgia Beth and the late Richard Thompson, this scholarship is awarded to non-traditional students (primarily women) enrolled as social science majors.
  • The Hal K. and Joan D. Campbell Music Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding student in music, with preference to a married student supporting a child at home.
  • The Jane Tripp Doran Theatre Scholarship Endowment: Awarded to a junior or senior student majoring in Theatre. The student preferred to be a single mother with at least one child living in the home or a female student, and also to a student who has not previously graduated nor holds a degree in any other discipline.
  • The Dennis Stowell Memorial Scholarship:  $1000 annually awarded to a student majoring in Integrated Engineering in the College of Science and Engineering. This student must be a non-traditional student, junior or senior, with financial need who is not receiving a full PELL Grant or other funding. The student should be from a rural area in southern Utah, with the first preference going to a student from Utah District 28, the area in which Dennis Stowell served as a Utah Senator.
For more information on these scholarships, please contact Financial Aid at 435-586-7735 or finaid@suu.edu